EIA Scholarship Program

The EIA Scholarship Fund is now accepting applications!

The EIA Scholarship Fund is intended to encourage members of families who are actively involved in the environmental profession to continue the tradition. A financial award to offset some of the cost of higher education is considered to be in the best interest of the Environmental Information Association while directly benefiting members of the community that we serve. This year, the EIA Scholarship Fund will make three awards – one for $2500, one for $1500, and one for $1000.

Applicants must be an EIA member in good standing, an immediate family member of an EIA individual member in good standing, or an employee of an EIA corporate member firm in good standing. Immediate family members are defined as: spouse, parents, children, siblings, and in-laws or “step relatives” of the same degree.

The applicant must be enrolled in a post high school degree program related to the environmental or construction industry. This includes technical schools, associate degree programs, and graduate school as well as traditional four-year degrees. If currently enrolled in approved program of study, the applicant’s grade point average over the previous two semesters must be at least 2.5 (on a 4.0 scale).

Fully completed scholarship applications shall be reviewed and evaluated individually based on the following criteria:

  1. Applicant’s college major as it relates to our industry.

  2. Applicant, their immediate family, or their sponsoring company’s involvement in the EIA, both nationally and in their local chapter if one exists.

  3. Applicant, their immediate family, or their sponsoring company’s involvement in the industry.

  4. Applicant’s written response as to why they believe they should receive a scholarship.

  5. Applicant’s involvement in school-sponsored industry related activities and/or public service-environmentally related activities.  

Each item shall be rated on scale of 1 to 5 with 1 being the lowest and 5 being the highest. The candidates with the highest average score shall be awarded the EIA Scholarship.

In the case of a tiebreaker, the highest head-to-head score for individual criteria shall be used in the following sequence: 2, if needed, then 3, 4, 1, and finally 5.

Applications shall be submitted on the form provided and must be received no later than June 30, 2019. Decisions will be made by July 15, 2019 and will be announce in the EIA Net News. Applications shall emailed to:

EIA Scholarship Fund
[email protected]

EIA 2019 Scholarship Online Application




Previous Scholarship Awards

2018 Michael Breu $2500
2018 Derek Koller $1500
2018 Greer Rutt $1000
2017 Elizabeth Ross $2500
2017 Derek Koller $1500
2017 Vedat Yenikale $1000
2016 Derek Koller $2500
2016 Sarah Cahill $1500
2016 Steven Law $1000
2015 Sarah Cahill $2500
2015 Allison Olshove $1500
2015 Michael Greenberg $1000
2014 Anthony Medina $2500
2014 Holly Rae Monger $1500
2014 Michael Duffy $1500
2013 Payton Schrum $1000
2013 Nichole Murphy $1000
2013 Holly Monger $1000
2013 Austin Barrett $1000